E-Betoonelement wins a special award for polished concrete surfaces at Mary Kay Music Studio


Today, on the Concrete Day, the winners of the "Concrete Building of the Year 2021" competition were announced, and E-Betoonelement received a special prize for the concrete elements of the Mary Kay Music Studio.

The Mary Kay Music Studio project was completed in cooperation between three Consolis sister companies, with E-Betoonelement, CES and Strängbetong contribution to the success of the project. The architectural solution of the building was created by Krook & Tjäder. The music studio in Sweden owes its beautiful and unique look to the automated concrete element finishing line used in the E-Betoonelement Harku factory. The production line that uses cutting-edge technology allowed us to produce polished and sleek wall elements for the building, as well as various structural surfaces.

Special award: Mary Kay Music Studio in Mölndal, Sweden.
Concrete elements: E-Betoonelement OÜ.
Comment of the jury: „For a consistently innovative approach in implementing design solutions for concrete elements.”

Mr. Aare Lessuk ,Quality Manager of E-Betoonelement, with the special prize for the concrete surfaces of the Mary Kay Music Studio on the Concrete Day

A brief overview of all the winners.

The Estonian Concrete Building of the Year 2021 – Port of Tallinn Cruise Terminal.
The main prize, architecture – Salto AB OÜ (Maarja Kask, Ralf Lõoke, Ragnar Põllukivi, Marja Viltrop, Margus Tamm) and Stuudio Tallinn OÜ (Villem Tomiste).

Client: Tallinna Sadam AS
Constructor: Sweco Projekt AS
General Contractor: YIT Eesti AS
Concrete works: Azelta Projekt OÜ, Savekate OÜ, Ideia OÜ
Concrete: Framm AS, Betoonimeister AS, Rudus AS
Concrete products: Narva-Bark AS, VMT Betoon AS, Muuga Betoonelement AS, Mammut Element OÜ
Formworks: Ramirent Baltic AS.

The chairman of the jury, Aadu Kana: „AS Tallinna Sadam has done a great job of opening up the previously closed Tallinn seaside area to the public as well as to our guests in an attractive way.” 

Special award: Riia-Vaksali street traffic junction’s bridge and tunnels, Tartu.
Architecture: PART OÜ (Sille Pihlak, Siim Tuksam).
Comment of the jury: „For outstanding concrete architecture in creating a fluid and inclusive infrastructure design and an urban landmark.”
The chairman of the jury, Aadu Kana: „The plasticity of concrete has an important role in achieving a strong and effective architectural form.”

Special award: Tabasalu School, Harjumaa.
Architecture: Pelle-Sten Viiburg (Doomino Arhitektid OÜ).
Comment of the jury: „For creating a functionally complete school building with impressive concrete exterior wall elements and thoughtful details.”

Special award from the Estonian Association of Civil Engineers was awarded to Stricto Project OÜ – the head designer of the constructions of the Riia-Vaksali street bridge and tunnels.

Special award from Äripäev newspaper was awarded to Nordecon AS – the general contractor of the Kindluse School project.

The Estonian Concrete Building of the Year competition, organized for the twenty-second time this year, has been launched to introduce the public to the wide range of uses for concrete and to recognize people who have used the domestic building material, the opportunity-rich and well-formable concrete, in their projects.

This year’s competition received 16 works. The submission was open to concrete buildings and structures and procedures within buildings that were handed over to the contractor in 2021.

The jury of the Concrete Building of the Year 2021 consisted of representatives from the Estonian construction associations: Tiit Trummal from the Union of Estonian Architects, Johannes Pello from the Estonian Concrete Association, Indrek Peterson from the Estonian Association of Construction Entrepreneurs, Indrek Laul from the Estonian Association of Civil Engineers, Johann-Aksel Tarbe from the Estonian Association of Architectural and Consulting Engineering Companies, Enno Rebane from the Association of Construction Material Producers of Estonia, the chairman of the jury Aadu Kana from Kunda Nordic Tsement AS, as well as the representatives of construction journalists – Teeli Remmelg, Editor-in-Chief of the construction publications of Äripäev, Liivi Tamm, Editor-in-Chief of the magazine EhitusEST, and the Finnish architect Maritta Koivisto - Editor-in-Chief of the magazine Betoni.

Read more:

See also: Selgus aasta betoonehitis Aasta betoonehitis on tallinna sadama kruiisiterminal

News: 07.12.2021 E-Betoonelement has entered two projects for the Concrete Building of the Year competition
News: 05.01.2022 16 buildings to participate in the Concrete Building of the Year 2021 competition

More news

Kõik õigused kaitstud © 2024 E-Betoonelement OÜ Powered by TENFOR marketing